The Board of Directors of Ijams Nature Center exists to protect the public trust.

The Board’s duties are governance, including financial and mission- related oversight and fund development.  Board composition includes appointed members from the City, Knox County and Knoxville Garden Club. Members-at-large serve two, three-year terms.   The Board meets at Ijams bi-monthly.


President: Kim Bumpas, Visit Knoxville
Vice-President: Nathan Hunter, Carol R. Johnson Associates
Treasurer: Kevin Matherly, Partners
Secretary: David Brace, City of Knoxville Service Department

Immediate Past President: Nathan Hunter


Emeritus members

Sherri Lee, Retired Chair of the Board, Southeast Service Corporation

Teenie Hayworth, Owner, Penrose Farm


 Appointed Members

Doug Bataille, Director, Knox County Parks & Recreation

Carson Dailey, Knox County Commission, South Knoxville District

Molly Gilbert, Knox County Council of Garden Clubs

Martha Kern, Representative, Knoxville Garden Club, Strong Stock Farm

George Wallace, City Council, South Knoxville District

Joe Walsh, Director, City of Knoxville Parks & Recreation


Members at Large

Maureen Bosch, WVLT TV Channel 8

Stuart Cassell, Attorney

Lynne Farmer, Bush Bros.

Vince Fusco, Regal Entertainment Group

Brian Hann, Dewhirst Properties/Appalachian Mountain Bike Club

Jim Holleman, Avison Young

Kevin Matherly, Partners

Carrie O’Rear, Attorney, London Amburn

Pat Richardson, University of Tennessee

Ann Sartwell, Attorney, Community Volunteer

Tonia Turner, Pinnacle Financial Partners

Stephanie Welch, Great Schools Partnership

Ty Williams, Mesa Associates